Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

RootKit nightmare - Virus across multiple devices

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 kizza91

kizza91

• Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:15 PM

Posted 28 August 2017 - 03:27 PM

Hi all,

Just want to start off by saying that I work in the IT industry and have done for the last 8 years, and even I cannot shake this nasty Rootkit which so far has infected, to my knowledge, 1 x Win10 Dell Work Desktop PC, 1 x Win7 Laptop , 2 x Windows 10 Laptops, 1 x Android Phone (Moto G), 1 x MacBook Pro, 1 x old Lenovo which I use for Kali Linux (just for messing around, learning IT Sec, the irony!), 1 x Synology 412+ NAS Drive, and even my Nokia N95 (believe it or not).

I've used Wireshark to monitor traffic coming in and out of my property, to which Wireshark is telling me that it's completely abnormal. This is using home broadband and also a Mobile 4G Router, same results.

On my main Laptop, a Clevo P375SM-A Gaming Laptop, I was battling with someone who had gained access and was controlling my mouse, locking me out of my machine, firing up random services, and then eventually I found traces that he had been broadcasting me from webcam across Flikr.com and Vox.com, which is really quite unnerving and shocked me (I've put some Bluetack across the lens now)