Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

NAS or something else?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 mislisa

mislisa

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:31 PM

Posted 08 August 2017 - 04:25 PM

First off, I am not much of a computer person. I can get by and figure out issues by googling and using YouTube, but i am no expert.

I am working in the office of my family business where we have 5 computers connected to the network. We are currently using one computer as our main data storage but it is getting old and will need replacing soon. My question is if a NAS would be a good way to increase our storage while reducing the risk of having a computer crash wipe the valuable data.

Please let me know what other information you need from me and I will do my best to get it to you!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 rqt

rqt

• Members
  • 394 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:31 AM

Posted 08 August 2017 - 05:18 PM

A NAS is itself a (very limited) computer so I don't see any great reduction of "computer crash" risk if deciding to use one. A "micro server" would be another (possibly more reliable??) solution - but I'm sure they can crash as well. 

#3 Chris Cosgrove

Chris Cosgrove

• 7,214 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:31 AM

Posted 08 August 2017 - 05:56 PM

First of all - welcome to BC !