Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

bitdefender free crashing my computer?

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 somae

somae

• Members
  • 87 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:25 AM

Posted 01 August 2017 - 05:20 AM

I've been using bitdefender free for over 3 years with no problems. Recently they've been announcing an upgrade and the computer started having problems around then. It started rebooting suddenly. I did a scan using bitdefender and it found malware. There weren't any problems after that until I tried to install their upgrade.

Ever since then the computer has been crashing (rebooting) often. I tried using system restore and I used revo uninstaller to uninstall bitdefender but it still crashes. Maybe it affected firefox because the computer hasn't crashed so far this time and I'm using internet explorer.

I'm using windows 7 pro x64.

I'm now using windows defender as the anti-virus. Thinking of uninstalling firefox and reinstalling.

I've seen a few things in a google search about problems with the bitdefender upgrade.

Help appreciated.

Edited by somae, 01 August 2017 - 05:23 AM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 mikey11

mikey11

• Members
  • 1,509 posts
  •  
  • Location:Psychiatric Ward @ Beelitz-Heilstatten Hospital, Beelitz, Germany
  • Local time:11:25 AM

Posted 01 August 2017 - 08:36 AM