Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

First build advice.

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 squareincircle

squareincircle

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:00 AM

Posted 05 July 2017 - 09:46 PM

Hi, I have never built a PC before. What is wanted is a Asus TUF Z270 Mark 1, stronger back-plate for air cooler & GPU, dust guards have a cat and will be close to litter box, warranty & think it is a good general purpose ATX MB. With this MB though there are options galore on BIOS/UEFI and that part scares me, have downloaded the manual and some of it is understood but a great deal of it is not understood.  Have any of you built your first PC on a MB that was in the middle of the road to upper end of options and cost? If so how did it go were you glad you chose that route?

As far as putting it all together am confident I can do that, ESD wrist strap, read manuals and read them again. Double and then triple check all connections. Outside the box test POST with CPU HSF attached.

Not sure if it's relevant or not but an i5 or i7 unlocked CPU will be in there and a good quality PSU along with a 1070 or 1080, have not decided on HD or QHD monitor.

I will game on it, light photography & video, skype, browse internet, typed documents, and don't know what else the computer I have now does very little it's fifteen years old.