Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Batch Script: to find files

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Richard ken

Richard ken

• Members
  • 247 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:19 AM

Posted 04 July 2017 - 03:54 PM

Hi, I have zero experience in batch scripting but I want to write a code that can accept a list of user input, that have partial filename, and search in the directory and sub-directory. If there are matches return where those files are located. I have been searching for anything that could give me some idea, but I couldn't find anything close. Thank you

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 egjk

egjk

• Members
  • 23 posts
  •  

Posted 04 July 2017 - 04:09 PM

Using a google search I found this:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/1447703/search-for-files-in-a-batch-script-and-process-those-files

for /r %%x in (*.resx) do echo "%%x"

I think this is what you're looking for? The * is a wildcard which means it captures anything with the file extension .resx.
You could use this to find all files with "pic" in the name by doing something like pic_*.jpg. Or a wildcard for any file extension e.g recommendation_letter.*
You can combine wild cards too :) e.g. pic_001*.* would return pic_0012.jpg and pic_0014.png

Edited by egjk, 04 July 2017 - 04:11 PM.

#3 britechguy

britechguy

Been there, done that, got the T-shirt

• 9,008 posts
  •