Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

What's the recommendation when catching someone logged on to your system?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 raw83472

raw83472

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:24 PM

Posted 22 June 2017 - 12:30 PM

I'm a software engineer and so I'm always very careful not to open email attachments or run strange .exe's downloaded from a website... but just the other day I switched from my desktop computer to my laptop, and someone was logged in opening, rearranging, and closing windows very quickly (like they were searching for something).  This scared the heck out of me and I immediately shut down my computer.  I've already run Avast, malwarebytes, Hijackthis, and some other anti-rootkit tools and they didn't find anything.  I also don't have any remote access tools (according to my uninstall programs list) that I know of.  The Avast virus scanner (run as boot scan) found one virus on chrome_update.exe which was "VBS:Downloader-AJD".  But nothing else was found by it or Malwarebytes.  Also, I've since installed ZoneAlarm (Is there a better firewall?).