Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Issue with latest AMD drivers and Win10

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 burnITdown

burnITdown

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:13 AM

Posted 19 June 2017 - 11:43 AM

Hello,

I've been banging my head against a proverbial brick wall for a few months now. I have an issue with the AMD drivers and Windows 10.

My PC is built mostly around my sim-racing hobby. I have a Sapphire R9 295x2 connected to 3 BenQ XL2730Z with StarTech MDP2DPMM10 cables. Around the time of the Creators update (I'm running Win10 Pro x64) I  could no longer upgrade my AMD drivers. 17.2.1 is the latest I can load and configure Eyefinity.

I've tried every WHQL and non-WHQL driver released since then. Most will load ok, but the problem comes when I try to enable eyefinity. The monitors will randomly go black and come back, show some garbled mess, then Windows reboots...no BSOD ever, just a reboot. At this point Windows will no longer boot, not even into safe mode. I have to reinstall or restore from backup. Very frustrating. I've used DDU between all driver upgrades (or downgrades). I've tried disabling crossfire, no difference. 

I've installed the video card in another PC and loaded Windows 10 and experienced the same issues.