Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Novice builder having occasional boot problems

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Novice-Mar

Novice-Mar

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  

Posted 17 June 2017 - 05:11 PM

Hello and I hope someone guy help with some guidance. I'm a novice builder that put together a system for 4K editing. Basically I sometimes have problems at start up, the latest stop code: MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION. I'll try to make a long story short as I'm not sure what applies.

System: Asus X99 deluxe I (now has latest bios), Intel 6950, Intel 750 SSD NVMe, Asus 1080 gtx, 64mb ram, Windows 10. After getting computer running I added a Samsung 850 as a storage drive, 45 second start-up.

The clean install on a new Intel SSD apparently went well but when optimizing bios as suggested by that JJ guy who works for Asus (stuff like turning off CSM and some other things), caused boot problems so I back off on a couple things he suggested and it all worked well, good benchmarks, etc, UNTIL I added a RocketRaid 2722 card for an external raid system. I started having some issues with that. I found if the external RAID was on when I started my computer, I would get the blue screen related to the driver of the card.