Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

remote access - even after system format

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 empersec

empersec

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:32 AM

Posted 07 June 2017 - 03:02 PM

Hello together and thanks in advance!

First of all I want to mention that i am an software developer / architect so we can speak on a somewhat technical level if required.

5 weeks ago when I worked on a Word document (Windows 10 Home) somebody began to write into it while I was watching. He wrote a sentence which would mean something like "Now he is f*****" in English.

This felt like some kind of remote access trojan. I am rather paranoid and just do Gaming, Photoshop and Office stuff (if MS Office is mandatory) in Windows. Important stuff is  usually done in Ubuntu.

So I took the Computer from the network and tried to investigate. I have a Kaspersky Internet Security installed and checked the past network activity and there was nothing I would consider suspicious. No big data transfer amounts and no executables which would make me nervous. 

Since I did not find anything I formatted my System disk and nearly everything else on the other disks except some Steam games. I changed every user account I could remember. This was a lot of work and I felt save.