Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Computer Won't Start Up, Help!

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 julie.connor

julie.connor

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:18 AM

Posted 09 September 2006 - 05:02 AM

I am by no means an expert so I'll have to explain this as well as I can (sorry if it sounds dumb!)
Since I got a shiny new laptop my old pc has thrown a strop and won't start up. When i turn it on there is no 'bleep' and the screen remains blank. I opened her up and had a fiddle, checked everything was connected snugly, removed some dust, to no avail. Tried this several times, switched it on after a last desperate attempt and it started up! It has run well for about a week, and now has failed again.

The pc is about 5 years old but had a new power supply early last year and a new hard drive 1 year ago. I am running XP (professional i think.... not sure since all discs are long gone and i haven't used it for a bit). I think the hard drive isn't starting up, what can I do? I have donated the computer to my husband who isn't very computer savvy, and he can't cope with these 'glitches' so I would like any advice which might help! Thanks.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 killmypc

killmypc

• Members
  • 221 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:48 AM

Posted 09 September 2006 - 09:13 AM

Welcome julie.connor,