Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Malwarebytes Antimalware found Rootkit.Fileless.MTGen...now what?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 mikey9

mikey9

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:35 AM

Posted 19 May 2017 - 04:19 PM

Hi I am a complete newbie to Bleeping Computer!  I am trying to help a family member recover from a malware infection, possibly a rootkit.  Initially I was approached to see if the computer was safe from the WannaCry ransomware.  Much to my dismay, I determined that the computer had not received Windows 7 updates since July 2016, and that the first update present was around July 2015. The system is an Acer Aspire 5742Z-4685 running Windows 7 Home.

Internet access was fine.

The first priority for me was getting Windows 7 to update itself again.  I followed the instructions here:  http://plugable.com/2016/06/08/windows-7-wont-update-what-to-do/ which worked flawlessly.  Note: At the time I followed the instructions, in step 12 (optional) and applied the KB4015549 (Monthly Rollup)” (alternate link to KB4015549 files).  The optional update for May 2017 had not been posted at the time.