Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

How to transition from developer to IT Security professional

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 ebruner

ebruner

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  

Posted 18 May 2017 - 04:00 PM

Hello, 

I am looking for advice.  

I am a web/mobile developer with ~ 15 yrs experience.  I am thinking of moving away from development and into IT Security, but I don't know where to start.

I have a BS CompSci.  In 2004, I completed a Graduate certificate in CyberSecurity just for the fun of it.

I'm thinking that I might want to take a class (online?) to freshen up my knowledge.  Any suggestions?

Also, considering the different branches of CyberSecurity...which would be a good career path for a former developer?

I appreciate your comments.

Ed

Edited by hamluis, 18 May 2017 - 05:26 PM.
Moved from Gen Security to IT Certs/Careers - Hamluis.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 JohnnyJammer

JohnnyJammer

• Members
  • 1,117 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:45 PM

Posted 18 May 2017 - 05:09 PM

personally i would say look at some cisco courses, then there is also some great cbt nugget videos on wire shark which along with cisco will help you strip packets down to the absolute and then look for exploits.

The i would be looking for languages like ruby, python, c++ to create exploits and bench test.