Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Is it safe to use an old router model?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 JackTorrance

JackTorrance

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:38 AM

Posted 18 May 2017 - 10:53 AM

I have been using a Linksys wired router (BEFSR81) for over 15 years now, and it's the perfect router for me. It's simple to use and configure, and the 8 LAN ports are really useful. And I don't need wireless, since all of my devices use wired internet. And I have no issues with my internet, it's fast and stable.

My only concern is, this router model was released in year 2000 so it's now ~17 years old and the official Linksys website does not have any new firmware/driver available. Is it still safe to keep using this router even if it's so old? Would a newer model grant extra protection against potential threats (hackers, viruses, etc) or router does not really matter for that?

If upgrading my router is recommended, what is the best wired 8+ LAN port router that's most similar to my Linksys model? ( http://www.linksys.com/us/support-product?pid=01t80000003KOIsAAO )

Edited by hamluis, 18 May 2017 - 10:57 AM.
Moved from External Hardware to Gen Security - Hamluis.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Joykill

Joykill

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:38 PM

Posted 18 May 2017 - 11:31 AM