Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Antimalware for Linux Mint...

• Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 RJNB

RJNB

• Members
  • 285 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:18 PM

Posted 18 May 2017 - 06:09 AM

Hello,

As some of you may know, I am quite new to Linux Mint and hence, I have no idea about which AV/Antimalware software is good for Linux...

I am running Linux Mint Xfce 18.1 along with Windows XP SP3...So, I am looking for one which can protect against both Linux and Windows malware...

Moreover, it would be better if it has a GUI as I am new to the terminal and not yet comfortable with it...

So, what would you all suggest?

Thanks!

RJ

Edited by RJNB, 18 May 2017 - 06:10 AM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 The-Toolman

The-Toolman

• Members
  • 1,411 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:48 AM

Posted 18 May 2017 - 08:16 AM

Hey  RJNB,

Anti-virus / Anti-Malware Suites aren't needed when using Linux.

Just make sure you have enabled the ufw firewall which can be checked by the terminal command sudo ufw status.

As far as Anti-virus / Anti-Malware Suites for Windows XP I'm uncertain of who is still supporting Windows XP anymore.

Here are some useful sites to help you with your new install of Linux Mint.

https://sites.google.com/site/easylinuxtipsproject/

https://sites.google.com/site/easylinuxtipsproject/first-mint-xfce