Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Help with diagnosis and whether to upgrade or buy new

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Finallyfoundln37

Finallyfoundln37

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:44 AM

Posted 17 April 2017 - 02:26 AM

Disclaimer: I am a noob. So hold on, this is going to be a journey. I need help with diagnosing the necessary repairs and/or upgrades and I need help deciding whether it would be smarter to just buy new. Both of these laptops are old hand-me-downs, mind you. 

The first laptop, my fallen love, is the Compaq c700. This small beast performed well when it came to having tons of tabs open at once. The bad news is I, like some sort of untamed jackass, used to lift this piece and carry it around by the screen. I didn't know any better. Well, I now know better since the screen now turns white as soon as it comes on. I've replaced the lcd cable but to no avail. I've ordered a replacement lcd screen and tried that with no success. I've hooked it up to a different screen which seems to work just fine until after I boot up the OS. As soon as I hear the "welcome" jingle for the Windows Login screen, the monitor goes directly to sleep. But get this, if I run the machine in Safe Mode, then the monitor does not go to sleep. So confusing to me. What's a simple man to do?