Jump to content


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.


Beware of a fake 'Do you classify this e-mail as unwanted/spam?' banner

  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 The_Codesee


  • Members
  • 337 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England, UK
  • Local time:10:46 AM

Posted 09 April 2017 - 09:27 AM

I received an email (shown below) in my spam folder today. From the first glance you take at it, you'll immediately know it's a spam email because it doesn't come from an official Apple email address:


Under the usual banner (this message was identified as spam), I noticed a new one reading:


⚠️ Do you classify this e-mail as unwanted/spam? Please report the sender by clicking here


Thinking this was a new feature from Outlook, I clicked the link and it took me to a 'confirm unsubscribe' page looking like this:



I'm not sure this is a new technique these companies or trying out to get your information, but be cautious and look out for this. If you take a closer look at the image, you'll see that the fake banner has a bigger margin to the left than the real one.


Inspect element also helps to see where the link will take you if you're unsure:



BC AdBot (Login to Remove)


#2 JohnnyJammer


  • Members
  • 1,121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:QLD Australia
  • Local time:08:46 PM

Posted 09 April 2017 - 05:53 PM

Mmmmm thats new, i have not seen that one before and i have seen thousands of emails trying all sorts of ways to infect a user.

Did you scan that URL at virustotal and urlquery.net?

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users