Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

So I unzipped and ran a dangerous execution file...

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Meew

Meew

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:48 PM

Posted 09 April 2017 - 02:32 AM

I am a tad tech savvy, I'm just worried that this problem isn't fully fixed as it is a very serious issue and poor play on my part.

Not knowing that this scam was going on, and to my shock of my order being real, I received an email.
It was from Fedex stating that I had my order number listed below, however there was a zipfile attached to the email. Let me be clear, in no way was I told to click and download the zip, this is my fault.
This random zipfile attached to the email also sprang some curiosity about what might be inside, I mean, it's just an unpacked zip file.

After playing chicken for five minutes I opened it with WinRar, and extracted the file into a folder which I then named Fedex. I noticed it was js file (javascript) and stupidly decided to run it.