Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Why do programmers know more than one language?

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Just_One_Question

Just_One_Question

• Members
  • 1,400 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:09 PM

Posted 04 April 2017 - 10:30 AM

complete noob when it comes to programming

Why are various apps, programs & websites written in more than one coding language?
If a programming language is generally 'a way to speak to and instruct the hardware', then why do coders need more than one? Bi-lingual people are usually able to express their thoughts and give instructions just as well in either language.
I see that JavaScript is the most used language in the world. Why do people learn other languages, can't they write the whole application or website in JavaScript? If I want to create my own website after I've learnt the basics of computers as a whole, can't I learn JavaScript (I presume that it's the easiest language, since so many people know it) and just write the whole website in JavaScript?
Also, on a little side note, what does front-end and back-end mean? Does front-end stand for the appearance of a website and back-end for the inner fuctions, which happen when you click a button and numerous instructions are set in motion, for example? :)

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Just_One_Question

Just_One_Question
  • Topic Starter