Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

After botched clone to flashdrive, win 7 won't recognize

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 frank1492

frank1492

• Members
  • 40 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:55 PM

Posted 01 April 2017 - 12:54 AM

Newbie here. Afterwards flashdrive was run on Win 8 machine, and did show in Win Explorer but size shown was incorrect - a few MB.Also file system was no longer fat32, apparently altered by cloning process as were partitions. Drive was cleaned, partition reset, format reset to exFAT,and correct size returned, all normal. BUT when inserted to Win7 machine, beeped, but not shown in Explorer!! Device manager showed device with #10 error- device cannot start. Drivers were checked, reinstalled, no more error messages. Computer restarted but still no Win Explorer display. Would like to get the drive working again for both Win7 and Win8, restored to condition before the clone. Wit's end here!! Any ideas? Thanks for help.

Edited by hamluis, 04 April 2017 - 08:16 AM.
Merged topics - Hamluis.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis

• 55,264 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:55 PM

Posted 02 April 2017 - 03:10 PM

I would delete everything on the flash drive...attach to working system...go to Device Manager and format.