Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

How can I maximize my internet security/anonymity?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 ThirdEchelonSam

ThirdEchelonSam

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:51 PM

Posted 19 March 2017 - 11:59 PM

Hello, I am new to this, so some of these questions might seem basic. I am looking to maximize my internet anonymity/privacy. I realize that I probably wont be able to hide myself from targeted surveillance from a developed state-level actor (though I would like to do as much as possible there too) - but I have little reason to believe there is any specific interest in me. Primarily I would like to leave as little information as possible that gets scooped up in all the mass surveillance, archiving, etc - digital habits, identifying information, etc. I don't like the idea of some agent years down the road being able to reach into the servers and know all about my life. I am currently getting (effectively) new hardware. I will be using. MBP retina mid-2012: I had some issue with the HD, so I sent it back to Apple a few months ago. They replaced most of the internals, and wiped all the data. I have not used it since. Galaxy S7 (Verizon): I have a factory refurbished warranty replacement that I have not use yet, waiting to be set up (my current S7 will be sent back after it is wiped/de-magnetized) Intern