Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

PC Won't boot Systems + Fans power on Black screen/No signal

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Steffan87

Steffan87

• Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:34 AM

Posted 19 March 2017 - 02:50 PM

Hey guys, I think this is my first time posting here. 

I built my own rig about 2 years ago (Specs listed at the end). I have since replaced my PSU once because of a power outage 7 months ago. 

The other night I was playing the Witcher 3: Wild Hunt as I have many times before. Later in the night I stretched out my legs while sitting in the chair and accidentally hit the HDMI cord mediocre with my toe causing the picture to go black and the GPU to be un-seated inside the case but systems were still running (could still hear the game and control my character through hearing it). I then did a hard shutdown of my computer and re-seated the GPU this has happened before without booting problems*. I tried starting the computer but the power wouldn't catch til after about 30 seconds, the computer fans and systems seemed to power up after that but my monitor has no signal. I also noticed that since the hard shutdown my Cougar PC case does not light up when the power is turned on which it was doing before the toe incident leading to believe its PSU or MOBO

Things I have tried: