Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Question about keeping a nonworking fan in computer.

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 rjisinspired

rjisinspired

• Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:58 PM

Posted 13 March 2017 - 08:04 PM

I have a Coolermaster 200MM fan plugged in right now. This fan stopped spinning as of the other night but the LEDs are on.

Would it be all right to keep this fan plugged in to the motherboard until I am able to open up the case and disconnect it? The reason why I am not able to do so at this time is because of static discharge. It is cold up here in New England, still. Even if I try to take out the charge by grounding and touching something metal there is still the chance of a static snap charge to take place and I do not want to harm anything. It is a little bit warm in my apartment but I still get static discharge during the winter times.

I might not even need this top fan. The temperatures inside for the board and drives are either the same or a tad lower which is interesting, yet I have not attempted to really work the computer, editing HD videos, without this fan.

Thanks for any input that anyone may have.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Havachat

Havachat

• Members
  • 1,082 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:58 PM

Posted 13 March 2017 - 08:49 PM