Posted 10 December 2004 - 10:28 PM
Those files are deleted, in the sense that the OS cannot find them, and the space they once occupied is now available. But, until overwritten, the information still exists on your hard drive. Deleteing items is much like ripping out the table of contents to a book---the actual chapters are still there.
There are several free programmes out there that will actually overwrite any chosen instances; my own preference is Eraser, at tolvanen.com, but Spybot has a shredder, as well.
Whereof one cannot speak, thereof one should be silent.