Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

File Explorer Crashes

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Metzgirl

Metzgirl

• Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:59 AM

Posted 07 March 2017 - 05:11 PM

Hey Guys,

I'm a tech at a smallish-sized company and we have two users who have had unsolveable file explorer crashing issues. We've had others with similar issues, but two remain. 

Exact problem: Customer opens File explorer. Once navigated to certain files, it shuts down. If the user searches for something, file explorer shuts down. We have them remoting into other workstations when they need to find files for the moment. 

Similarities among users: 

• WIndows 10
  • Adobe Creative Cloud
  • Office 365
  • Standard stuff: Java, Flash, Chrome, Firefox, etc

We usually keep them updated as soon as patches are available. 

One is a Surface Pro 4 user

One has a Dell 9020. 

So far, we have tried: 

• Under Folder Options
    •  Clearing the File Explorer History
    •     Unchecking the Show recently used files/folders in Quick Access check boxes
    •     Check the "Launch Folder windows in a separate process" 
    •     Clear the "How to search: Don't use the index  when searching in the file folders for system files" check box 
    •     Restore Defaults