Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows 7 boot problem related to Visual Studio 2015/Xamarin Updates

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 fletchpenn919

fletchpenn919

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:33 PM

Posted 04 March 2017 - 03:36 PM

March 4, 2017
Hello all,

I am a very experienced software engineer with years of experience developing and troubleshooting windows applications.
I recently started learning mobile development using Xamarin.Forms tools and love the environment.
However, a recent Windows 7 boot problem on my primary development workstation has got me stumped and I need your help.

Summary: Windows 7 will not boot and goes into System Recovery mode.
Recovery mode discovers several problems but eventually gives up and I am stuck with a machine that is unusable.
This has happened twice under very similar conditions.

Details:
I installed VS2015/Xamarin on my workstation starting January 2, 2017 and have been learning, building sample apps and deploying to my Android and iPhone like crazy for two months with no problems.
My workstation is a very reliable computer with an MSI P7N-SLI motherboard,
A fellow software engineer has been following the same path and also has the Mac i need to deploy to the iphone. (I don't have a mac)