Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Corrupt win file

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 eagle12

eagle12

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:07 PM

Posted 04 March 2017 - 03:08 AM

Hi all

Newbie here asking for advice please.

My Dell PC running windows10 cannot boot, I see message as follows........

Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt ........C Windows root>\system32\hal.dll reinstall a copy of the file.

I cannot get past this screen, I have a rescue disc but cannot change boot seqence. PC stuck on this message.

Can anyone help or is it a trip to repair man?

Edited by hamluis, 04 March 2017 - 08:44 AM.
Moved from Crashes/BSODs to W10 Spt - Hamluis.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Allan

Allan

• BC Advisor
  • 8,551 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:07 PM

Posted 04 March 2017 - 10:05 AM

Why can't you change the boot sequence? Let's make sure you're doing it the right way. Go into bios, go to the boot device entry, move the optical drive to the top of the boot order and then save your change and exit bios

#3 britechguy

britechguy

Been there, done that, got the T-shirt

• 6,795 posts
  •  

Posted 04 March 2017 - 10:42 AM

Every manufacturer has its own way of invoking UEFI (or at least so it seems) which is where you'll use the BIOS settings to change boot order.