Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

W10, 1st time user, and hate it !

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 alter501

alter501

• Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:51 AM

Posted 27 February 2017 - 11:08 PM

Even though I'm a computer novice, I've used Linux Mint for several years and love it.

Other than that, by necessity, I have several W7 computers and as I've got them down to how i want them, I don't mind W7 at all - I like it in fact.

Recently I've had to upgrade one of those laptops, so I've ended up with a new one loaded with W10, and all updates seem to have been done by now.

My opinion ? I hate it. It does nothing for me, it seems, but much for Microsoft; I am left with the overriding impression that rather that W10 being the product, that I am the product, and Microsoft will do what it wants with me.

I hate it. The menus are awful, the colours are washed out .. even the verbage in that stupid Contrata thing is awful and presumptuous.

Where is the improvements to W7 ? I can't see any. Just a bunch of junkware that it's taken me ages to remove. Even so, I am most unimpressed with the user interface - it's like a childs building block set compared to W7 and my wonderful Linux computers.

Edge ? A joke. I have installed Firefox and it's brilliant (even better than on Linux).