Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Where My Internet Name Came From

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Madbiker1960

Madbiker1960

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:23 PM

Posted 24 February 2017 - 06:47 PM

Hello; 

I worked as a bicycle courier for 11 years 1998 - 2009.

Doing that job 365 days a year (holidays and weekends off of course) was an exhilarating experience. No matter the weather hot and sunny or cold and blizzard conditions I was out in it all.  I developed a sixth sense about riding in all kinds of traffic on the roads.

There were numerous times I got the door prize [definition-some driver opens the driver's door just as you approach and you run into it] and when it happened 90% of the time there was no apology coming just a curt too bad. 

As the years wore on I was given a nickname by my fellow couriers which was "Madbiker" and the name stuck.

I constantly used my PC and found that using my real name was not a good idea, the solution came to me to use my new nickname with my own "add" to it MADBIKER1960.

Now it is all I use to identify myself whenever I use the internet.