Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

My Testimony To Bleeping Computer Security Advice

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Longhorn_and_company

Longhorn_and_company

• Members
  • 36 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:59 PM

Posted 31 August 2006 - 08:46 PM

hi. :trumpet:

Newbie here. (not dumb, but "new" :( )

I updated my computer from NOT only having McAfee Comptuer Security Center (I WISH I saw this site first and heard about Zone Alarm, as I would have bought that....hey, if I happen to buy it, can I have both work at the same time???) to also having all the stuff Mr. G. advises: ie: spybot S&D, Spyguard, Webroot Spy Sweeper, Adaware free,etc.).

Now, after I installed it all, my computer was slower than....than...well, what is SUPER SUPER slow?! :cool: It was BAAAAAAAd...so bad, I could not access the internet (the IE browswer would NOT open)...my computer was HUMMING that "I'm working hard here!" noise....my tray was full with that stuff.....and I was worried..."MY gosh...WHAT THE HECK DID I DO?!"

Well, it did not explode. Thank goodness.
I, after re-scanning for spyware and viruses and trojans and critters....and stuff....decided to again (AGAIN) reboot.
Done.
Still slow and a noisy "I'm working my butt off herer doing 15,000 processes" noise came from my puter...