Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Complete noob with router problems

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 qportx

qportx

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:30 AM

Posted 03 February 2017 - 01:51 PM

Hi everybody,

Im located in spain, with orange being my internet. We have fiber optic and we have been given "livebox 2.1" router.

Now, i need the coverage to reach one specific room that is located at the end of the apartment (its a small apartment). The room is about 12 meters from the router. The livebox router doesnt even have antenas and i am pretty sure its coverage is pretty poor. 

For that reason i got me a tp-link TL-WR940N, which is a budget router but it had great reviews and i thought it should definitely be enough for what i needed. I am such a retard that i could not replace the original livebox with the new router. The quick setup wizard did not work, it failed identifying whether I have static or dynamic IP etc. Ive tried playing around but I just didnt manage to set it right.