Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Video Card - Ruined? Just Need to Have HDMI

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 gibsgoinpro

gibsgoinpro

• Members
  • 57 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:06 AM

Posted 01 February 2017 - 04:46 PM

I'm upset with myself even though I'm not tech savvy. A fan in my computer that for the longest time was so loud and clanky stopped being so loud. I thought it might have fixed itself. Anyways, last night I was watching a video from computer on my tv and heard a super loud POPPP sound. My computer was hotter than id ever felt it be. Turned it off. And seen the fan was not even working anymore and pulled the video card out. THrough the fan of the video card I smelled burnt dust. So i'm 95% sure that it was from the video card. Does that mean the video card is pretty much ruined?

WIthout too much info, recently it would not let me use the video card when i turned computer on. So i've been watching through the VGA connector. My friend said that my RAM could be why I couldn't use my video card anymore. So if it was RAM would that be because the memory has run out? How do I find out?