Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

New to Linux

• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 johngod

johngod

• Members
  • 133 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:59 PM

Posted 28 January 2017 - 01:54 PM

Hi Guys,

My name is John god, and I'm new to Linux.

I was on the xp site in HP Recovery-Windows XP Media

and JohnC_21 helped me an awful lot very thankful for all his help.

I have a HP desktop which didn't have an operating system. 

I had a recovery disk that I ran 2 times, but wasn't working.

He had me download Linux Cinnamon 64-Bit.

Which seems good, but I do have a few questions.

Here Goes;

I do not need to install  Anti-Virus, Anti-Malware, Anti-Spyware?

What should I install if anything?

Edited by johngod, 28 January 2017 - 01:55 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Viper_Security

Viper_Security

• Members
  • 826 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:59 PM

Posted 28 January 2017 - 01:58 PM

Welcome to Linux(*Nix)  you will enjoy Linux Mint. 

and for the most part, no you do not need antivirus/malware/spyware. but DO however turn your firewall on. 

IT Auditor & Security Professional

hQBT2G3.png

#3 pcpunk

pcpunk

• Members
  • 5,737 posts
  •  

Posted 28 January 2017 - 02:13 PM

@johngod, did you actually install Linux Cinnamon 64-Bit yet?

sBCcBvM.png

Created by Mike_Walsh

KDE, Ruler of all Distro's