Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Granting permissions to sub folders

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 searchingpaths

searchingpaths

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:06 AM

Posted 26 January 2017 - 01:07 PM

As an administrator I can create and grant permissions to folders with no problem.  I have one folder on my system which has several sub folders.  Each sub folder is unique to an individual users and that user is granted full rights to that sub folder, but not the parent folder. 

There is a manager within the company who would like to be able to create sub folders, and with full permissions already, can do that.  However the manager would then like to be able to assign full rights to that folder to a specific individual, such as a folder for a new hire.  I can do it, but would like to delegate this authority to that manager.  I have gone to the delegation of control wizard in the AD but do not see that permission.  I thought that giving full control of the parent folder to the individual would permit that but it does not. 

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 JohnnyJammer

JohnnyJammer

• Members
  • 1,117 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:06 PM

Posted 26 January 2017 - 10:18 PM

With issues like this i always do mine like so.