Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

How is this program trying to get into my VNC port? And other questions...

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 quietmedic

quietmedic

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:13 PM

Posted 18 January 2017 - 09:05 PM

Ok, so im really a beginner at internet security.  I've worked in IT and have tons of experinece with hardware and such, but internet security is so confusing.  Anyway.

I've been trying to lock down my PC better, working in the Windows Firewall and also running scans with Wireshark to see what is going on in general.

I've noticed the same several IP addresses trying to get into my VNC port.  (I know, I know, VNC is really not great to open to the world, but I need access and have no clue how to make an IPSEC tunnel or SSH tunnel or even what those mean, but more on that later).

Anyway, as soon as I switch my VNC port, within a day, it's happening again.  ( Yes, my realVNC is password protected, and of course, virus scans, malware scans all negative etc etc, my computer is seemingly clean).

Here's an example packet:

source                 destination   protocol  length

128.210.154.232 192.168.2.5 TCP        74

Info

[TCP Retransmission] 58787→5903 [SYN] Seq=0 Win=29200 Len=0 MSS=1460 SACK_PERM=1 TSval=359065360 TSecr=0 WS=128 496

5903 is my VNC port of course.