Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Fake Flash player installer. How or where can I report it?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Almarma

Almarma

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:36 PM

Posted 10 January 2017 - 09:14 AM

Hi!

I'm a IT technician and I use Macs at home. I also try to give advices and user tips to my customers to improve their security. Sometimes, around the internet, I find some scams or ads telling me I have viruses or something weird and I sometimes download it just to test antivirus software, or just to try to imitate my customers to try to learn about how they get infected so I can give them up to date information.

Some days ago I found a quite convincing warning about my flash player being outdated (funny, because I don't have any installed ;) ), so I downloaded it, and then uploaded to virustotal.com, where only one AV detected it (here's the report). Opening the .pkg file I found it's a bundle of adware with some known guys like Mackeeper.

My question is: What could I do to report it, so I can help AV manufacturers to detect it as soon as possible so other people can be aware?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 smax013

smax013

• BC Advisor
  • 2,329 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:36 PM

Posted 11 January 2017 - 01:19 AM