Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Is malwarebytes enough?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 3rockpeople

3rockpeople

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:15 AM

Posted 02 January 2017 - 10:51 AM

I am a complete beginner, but use malwarebytes often. It almost never brings up any threats.

However, I am in a household where others also use the same network, and they don't scan their PC.

A: Is there a way to scan and find out if my PC is free of anything that would allow non-state identities to read along my activities?

B: I am willing to buy a non-expensive antivirus program for additional security, which one is the best to avoid having others read through my activities (like trojans etc)?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 quietman7

quietman7

Bleepin' Janitor

• Global Moderator
  • 51,288 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:15 AM

Posted 02 January 2017 - 11:03 AM

Which version of Malwarebytes?

Malwarebytes 3.0 combines their previous Anti-Malware, Anti-Exploit, Anti-Ransomware programs along with malicious website protection into one product which is just called "Malwarebytes" and fully capable can be used to replace your existing anti-virus or serve as an adjunct anti-malware solution  since it lacks some constructs that a traditional anti-virus application employs.