Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Restarting To Factory Settings

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 ghedi

ghedi

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:24 PM

Posted 28 August 2006 - 10:41 PM

hi i am new to this so hopefully you can help me. I have a compaq persario and i want to revert it to the factory settings. Last time i wanted to do this i was still under warrenty and they walked me right through the process, no start up disk required, now i need to pay for tech support and they want 100 bucks. I can;t afford that, I just wanan know if anyone knows how on a compaq with windows xp how i revert to my factory settings?

thank you all that will help me,
davey

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 jgweed

jgweed

• Staff Emeritus
  • 28,473 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:24 PM

Posted 28 August 2006 - 11:07 PM

Do you have the recovery disks that usually come with Presarios?
Reverting to factory settings will delete ALL applications and data files you have put on your computer since you got the PC, so be sure to make backup copies of all important data before doing anything. This seems to be a drastic measure---is there a reason you want to do this?
Regards,
John
Whereof one cannot speak, thereof one should be silent.

#3 usasma

usasma

Still visually handicapped (avatar is memory developed by my Dad

• BSOD Kernel Dump Expert