Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Upgrading or buying a new PC?

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 ransaked1

ransaked1

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:35 AM

Posted 25 December 2016 - 12:34 PM

Hi guys!

I'm new to this comunity and topic.

I got this specs on my 5 year 32bit PC:

CPU:    DualCore AMD Athlon II X2 220, 2800 MHz (14 x 200)

Motherboard:   Biostar N68S3B

RAM:    2GB SDRAM

GPU:    nVIDIA GeForce 210 (p873)

So I need it for CS:GO, WorldofTanks and some Video editing. Know it runs CS:GO at 30fps even with full optimization and can't run Windows 10 normally. My budget is 500-600$ and my question is if it's worth upgrading it and with what? Or better by a new PC with this money?

PS: I'm ok waiting a few month if it means a better upgrade or cheaper parts.

Thanks a lot for any answers!

Merry Christmas :)

Edited by ransaked1, 25 December 2016 - 12:45 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Drillingmachine

Drillingmachine

• Members
  • 2,400 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:35 AM

Posted 25 December 2016 - 02:17 PM

Other parts? Like case, power supply, hard disk and DVD drive.

Upgrade is not impossible idea. Used Phenom II X4, 8GB RAM and better video card would make it much faster. But if case, PSU etc are subpar, then perhaps hard disk and DVD drive can be spared and other parts new.

#3 ransaked1