Jump to content
Posted 08 December 2016 - 03:46 AM
Posted 08 December 2016 - 04:29 AM
I think those are "leftovers" from failed WU attempts, where the installer does not clean up properly after itself.
I just created a restore point and a system image (to be safe) and then manually deleted them.
I did not use the "update cleanup" patch (KB2852386), because I had heard mixed reviews about that particular patch.
If you check around at computer fora, I think you'll find several other reports of this behavior.
Most of them trace back to the issues that started several months ago with the WU client and the perpetual "checking for updates" problem.
Once I fixed that issue by installing KB3172605, I no longer saw those ghost folders being created.
Posted 08 December 2016 - 06:27 AM
Thanks for that. How long ago did you install KB3172605?
I have been staying away from it even Woody recons its suspect!!!
Posted 08 December 2016 - 07:56 AM
KB3172605 has been perfectly safe for many, many folks.
In fact, if you look here at bleeping, at sevenforums.com, and at many other sites/communities, you'll see that it appears to be the one patch that fixes the perpetual "checking for updates" issue that plagued so many Win7 users for many months.
While Woody L is generally on the money, the information you're looking at for this particular update may be a few months outdated???
(Yes, I think they have updated the update once or twice since it was originally published. I think there was something buggy about it originally, although I don't recall what that was.)
I installed it a few months ago on both Win7 boxes -- no problems with the installation and (as mentioned) it fixed the WU client issue.
I installed both of those, but only AFTER I had installed KB3172605.
Getting back to the original question, you should be OK deleting those weird folders in the root directory - they seem to relate to the WU client problem we experienced.
Deleting them worked for me and many other folks.
And I have not seen similar folders in the C:\ directory since then.
To be cautious, you can create a system restore point and a system image (and data backups) before you do.
IIRC I left the folders in the recycle bin for a day or so before permanently deleting them.
I understand the healthy skepticism.
It's up to you, of course and YMMV, as I cannot predict what's on your system or how it will behave.
Just sayin' what worked for me and for others.
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users