Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Desktop running Windows 10 completely stuck

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 navidson

navidson

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:43 PM

Posted 01 December 2016 - 02:48 PM

Hello all - I'm a newbie so please be gentle - and apologies if this is in the wrong place

My son in law has a gaming PC - He's been messing around with the settings (obviously deleted something he shouldn't have) and now the PC is in a state of perpetual nothingness

The computer will boot - but it takes a good 10 minutes to get to the desktop - There are now no icons on the desktop and it is not possible to get onto the internet - Nor is it possible to run any programmes (I have tried to run a system restore but to no avail)

Like i say, I have tried to run a system restore, a repair and tried to boot into safe mode but it's not having it - It will let me get into the command prompt but will not run anything instructed from there either

Any suggestions on how to fix this? I would be quite happy to reinstall Windows, but ATM cannot format or install anything!

Thanks in advance

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 britechguy

britechguy

Been there, done that, got the T-shirt

• 8,628 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:43 AM

Posted 01 December 2016 - 03:00 PM