Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

How to creat a Symbolic link pointing to a different hard drive partion??

• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 John-Mack

John-Mack

• Members
  • 26 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:59 PM

Posted 23 November 2016 - 04:41 PM

Hello all,

I have recently installed Mint 18. I am new to Linux and am sure this is a very basic question but I have searched around for a while and can't seem to figure out how to create a shortcut on my desktop that points to a different drive partition. I have a 2 tb hdd with 3 partitions on it, one is Windows, one is Mint and the third is my pictures. I want the shortcut to point to the partition with the pictures on it.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks  John.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 MadmanRB

MadmanRB

Spoon!!!!

• Members
  • 3,221 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:59 PM

Posted 23 November 2016 - 05:21 PM

What is your desktop environment (DE)?

You know you want me baby!

Proud Linux user and dual booter.

Proud Vivaldi user.

xu847p-6.png

#3 John-Mack

John-Mack
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 26 posts
  •  

Posted 23 November 2016 - 05:34 PM

Thank you for your quick reply!!
I am using the Mate desktop.

#4 MadmanRB

MadmanRB

Spoon!!!!

• Members
  • 3,221 posts
  •  

Posted 23 November 2016 - 05:43 PM