Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Forgotten password/Factory reset

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 catchkennyifucan

catchkennyifucan

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  

Posted 19 November 2016 - 10:11 PM

Hey guys (and girls), this is my first time posting on this forum, so I would like to apologize in advance if I'm in the wrong spot.

Anyways, I opened up my laptop (HP Pavilion G series/Win7) earlier today and it stated that I have had my password too long and need to reset it. The problem is, I do not remember my old password, so I am in a bind.
I keep all of my important stuff on my desktop, so I don't mind factory resetting this laptop. I usually do not have to resort to formus like this one, as I am able to correct any technical issues myself by just using google or other similar means. I tried doing a google search on how to factory reset it without the password and they are all telling me to hit F11 upon start up and select "system recovery", but when I hit the F11, it's asking me if I want to log on through safe mode. I tried doing that to see if I could factory reset it when I was in the computer, but even that route is asking me for a password.

So, if anyone can help me fix this issue, preferably not through any kind of reset, that would be great, but if that's my only option, well then, it looks like that is my only option.