Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Should I format the external HDD before creating a hard disk image on it?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 rebeccavalentine

rebeccavalentine

• Members
  • 28 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:38 AM

Posted 18 November 2016 - 06:14 AM

I use Windows 7 professional 64 bit edition. Im a novice user who is doing this for the 1st time. 
I intend to use Macrium Reflect Free edition to store an image of my C drive which is the only partition I have, (931 GB ( of which 537 GB is free) ) on an external HDD which is of Sony, 1TB & Fat32 formatter. 

But am I supposed to format the external HDD before attempting to create an image on it? The external HDD already has nearly 400 GB contents on it, & i cant wipe it off. Does the imaging process wipe it off? Or am i expected to do it, before starting the imaging process??

& also how much space is the image going to occupy roughly?? 

I'd be highly thankful if someone could guide me on this.. Please.. 

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 SleepyDude

SleepyDude

• Malware Response Team
  • 3,181 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:08 AM

Posted 18 November 2016 - 07:08 AM

Hi,