Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Dual-booting Win7/WinXP, boot options not showing

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Kovyx

Kovyx

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:57 PM

Posted 30 October 2016 - 11:25 AM

Hello, again, i'm a technician at an electronic repair shop. A customer wanted to have Windows 7 and Windows XP dual booting on their Acer Aspire 5253 laptop. Win7 was pre-installed on the device, and a co-worker managed to add WinXP alongside it before i was told about the project.
Problem is, there's no longer any boot options, aside from what's normally in the BIOS settings. There's no screen to select whether to boot Win7 or WinXP, and it just automatically boots in XP.

Things i've tried to fix that:

- Burned the program PLoP boot manager to a disc, and attempted installing it on the hard drive
- The program runs, but only from the disc, as there is no option to install it. Official website says it should install itself automatically, but it seems to not be doing that. It also doesn't allow me to save changes to settings in the program, though this may be due to it not being installed on the computer.
- Furthermore, the program doesn't see Win7 among the installed OS, only WinXP. I had thought this was maybe because my co-worker had accidentally installed XP over Win7.