Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Win95 IDE Drive Tried to Clone but got Missing Operating System Instead

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 waterbattle

waterbattle

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:33 PM

Posted 19 October 2016 - 09:48 AM

Hello everyone, I am new to the IT world, I just graduated and got my first job, and would like your help. So this is what my superiors gave me as my first big task. They wanted me to clone this Windows 95 machine that has a software installed that controls the environment in several rooms. So thinking that this was going to only take me 10 -20 minutes, I find out that it wasn't. At first I used Macrium free version to clone the hard drive, however when I plugged the cloned drive into the computer and started it up it showed that "C:\ Missing Operating System". I just thought maybe the software wasn't good so I used AOMEI Backupper and did the Disk Clone option and got the same result "C:\ Missing Operating System". Was there a step I was missing anywhere or was it the software like I thought it was? I am trying not to incur expenses while I do this, mostly because my superior doesn't want to use money if possible, but if you guys say I have to buy a license for a specific software then I have no choice.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 JohnC_21

JohnC_21

• Members
  • 20,557 posts