Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Correct motherboard for sli GTX1080 i7-6850k 950 pro ssd

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 stephanie445

stephanie445

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:45 PM

Posted 10 October 2016 - 12:26 AM

Hi all, this is my first time posting on forums and also my first time trying to build a computer. I have a budget of CAD$3000 and have found a reliable source for pricing in CAD.  (https://ca.pcpartpicker.com/list/) Although my budget is high i would like to minimise any expendatcure that isn't purely gaming focused no bling when I could spend that money on graphics or motherboard or accessories. My focus of this build is to build a comp that I can upgrade to something that will play 60 fps 4k gaming and perfect VR. Hears what iv come up with.

i7-6850k - (I need 40 PCI express lanes) the plan is to sli in about a year.

GTX1080

Motherboard? - (Asus strix - edition 10) I'm hoping to save money in this area but not decrease the performance of other parts. I could upgrade when I do the sli upgrade.

Ram DDR4

SSD 256 950 pro - I would like to take advantage of the extra pcl lines provided by the 6850k.

Basically, with the top end Asus Rampage V Edition 10 every thing else such as the cooling system, case, power supply etc. comes to CA$3258.  http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/list/HNKqd6