Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Which folders sync with IMAP?

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Cynthia Moore

Cynthia Moore

• Members
  • 286 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:37 PM

Posted 17 September 2016 - 08:37 AM

I have been using POP for many years with multiple devices (Win XP workstation, iPad, iPhone). I recently ran into a bit of a problem with a new Win 10 laptop that was set up as IMAP. The result was multiple copies of emails on all of the devices. I have shut down Outlook on the new laptop until I can figure this out.

After some research, I realize that I need to decide whether to use POP or IMAP and set all of the devices the same. I think it is time for me to convert everything to IMAP, but before I do, there are a couple of details about how the email folders are synced that I do not understand.

In the Outlook Mail panel, I see a list of folders. The top level folder is named “Personal Folders (Unicode)”. There are 9-10 subfolders: Deleted Items, Drafts, Inbox, Inbox2, Junk E-mail, Messages, Outbox, RSS Feeds, & Sent Items. Some seem hardwired and some I created. Many of them have sub-subfolders.

I have more than one email account. They do not all come from the same ISP.