Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

VPN's...TOR...Question

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 chiiibill

chiiibill

• Members
  • 176 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:45 PM

Posted 11 September 2016 - 07:52 PM

I guess this falls under the Privacy Software category.

As a novice I was wondering what differences there were between a VPN (such as AirVPN, ExpressVPN, etc) and using the TOR browser? What does one offer that the other doesn't? Any benefit in using them simultaneously?

Not an undercover reporter in Syria or anything like that.

Travel often and must use public wifi. Sometimes will visit a site that I can't guarantee won't bite me.

Any clarification would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Edited by chiiibill, 11 September 2016 - 08:29 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 sasschary

sasschary

• Malware Study Hall Senior
  • 782 posts
  •  

Posted 11 September 2016 - 08:10 PM

Hello, chiiibill!