Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Quick Windows Defender Question

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 JohnnyNightrain

JohnnyNightrain

• Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:40 PM

Posted 03 September 2016 - 08:53 AM

I am very new to Windows 10, but it's pretty easy to pick up. However, I can't figure one thing out... unlike Security Essentials from Windows 7, I'm not sure if Defender is running when I startup my computer. I have real-time protection turned on, but it seems like I have to launch it every time I start. Previously, Security Essentials would just show up in the System Tray showing the PC as being "protected." That doesn't seem to be the case now.

Unrelated, is there any way to boot right to the login screen (not the desktop) an bypass that picture with the date and time?

Anyway, I know I'm late to the party, but I like Windows 10 so far.

Edited by Queen-Evie, 03 September 2016 - 11:06 AM.
moved from Windows 10 Support to the appropriate forum

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Niweg

Niweg

• Members
  • 802 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:40 PM

Posted 03 September 2016 - 10:08 AM

You can type Defender into the search box (next to the Start button) and hit Enter.  That will bring up a status window showing whether Defender is active and up to date.

Good luck.