Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

PFSense LAN Traffic Reached 300mbps

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Ramelito

Ramelito

• Members
  • 14 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:22 PM

Posted 02 September 2016 - 07:13 AM

Good day,

I am an amateur network admin in a call center and i was just wondering why our LAN traffic based on our PFSense Firewall/ Router spiked to 300mpbs. Here, internet connection became slow and some calls went choppy but our Internet connection did not disconnect. Our Internet connection has a speed of 30mbps only by the way. Please see attached image for reference.

QUESTIONS:
1. Can this be a DOS attack made accidentally or intentionally?
2. I requested all active protocols during the same hour from our ISP and got the data with SIP RTP being the highest although there seems to be bittorrent active that time. May I know if RTP can cause network congestion that may reach 300mbs on a LAN?

Thank you very much in advance for you answers

-Ram Martinez

Attached Files

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Aura

Aura

Bleepin' Special Ops

• Malware Response Team
  • 19,670 posts
  •  

Posted 02 September 2016 - 07:19 AM

SIP RTP: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Real-time_Transport_Protocol